•  
  •  
Sort:
You are not authorized to post a reply.
Author Messages
AlchemyUnited New Member New Member Posts:1
--
10/09/2008 12:48 AM

I'm pretty new to DNN so please speak slowly :) Thanks.

I installed the XDFlower skin, no problem. (Looks great! Thanks so much!!) I soon decided I wanted to make some modifications. I am also new to being hands on with CSS (though I have done minor modifications in the past and certainly understand CSS' role in the large picture of site design.) I'm hoping someone can share some insights on the following:

- What is the relationship between the skin's CSS and the portal's CSS? I ask because there seemed to be elements in the skin that were "hardcoded" (e.g., the header jpg in each seperate .aspx) that I thought would be CSS driven (i.e., a single .aspx with multiple CSS's - or maybe this is a DNN issue).

- If I copy selector / declarations from the skin CSS to the portal CSS, will the portal's CSS override the skin's? Is there anything I need to be concenred about? What capabilities of CSS do I need to be aware of that's going to help me?

- Basically, I'm just tryinng to get a handle on the mindset I need to have if I wish to customize a portal without making permanent modifications to skin that mother's it. So any insights on such efforts would be greatly appreciated. Or maybe, in the example of XDFlower, I could in fact modify each .aspx's html / layout  a slight bit and then once I apply it I can finish the make-over with the portal's CSS.

Yes, I know there are loads of resources on the web :) What I'm trying to do is get some expert input in pointing me in the right direction(s) so I don't waste time deciding a crap resource is just that, crap :)

Thanks in advance
    Mark

kxdhost I'm the boss! Basic Member Basic Member Posts:227
    --
    11/09/2008 3:02 PM

skin.css is related to the skins that are in the skin package...

Portal.css - DNN allows you to have child portals and multiple websites under each database.